• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Wiring diagram review

e4cutler

I'm ready to start pulling wire on the jeep and wanted to layout my wiring on paper before I started to hopefully minimize wasted fittings and wire. This is my first attempt at a full rewire and drawing a wire schematic so don't be to hard on me :fish:. This is on a 1980 CJ7 with a tbi350. I had the wiring harness cut down and computer flashed already so some of the references you see on the drawing are for wires coming out of the harness. I didn't put the gauges on here since they're all mechanical. You'll also notice there are a few spaces left blank for fuse size and that's due to me not knowing what size fuse to put in there. I'll post the drawing through tapatalk since photobucket is being difficult.

f7cc99c46a83d01036638c3e6dfc4c9c.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I may be missing it bc my head it turned sideways laughing1 but are you doing a push button ignition? flip switch fuel pump?

The biggest thing right away is you need some sort of battery disconnect. The way you have it now, everything will always have power. You can either disconnect the + battery or the - ... pros and cons to either.

slravenel said:
I may be missing it bc my head it turned sideways laughing1 but are you doing a push button ignition? flip switch fuel pump?
The biggest thing right away is you need some sort of battery disconnect. The way you have it now, everything will always have power. You can either disconnect the + battery or the - ... pros and cons to either.

Everything is run off of rocker switches. I have a battery disconnect switch in the garage that I can install between the battery and relay/fuse block.

Correct me if I'm wrong though, but with each of the switches turned off, nothing is receiving power as it's currently laid out and the disconnect switch would act as safety to ensure nothing was drawing the battery down while not in use.

c363f7e0b1005833ce5336d1cc41279c.jpg