Hardline Crawlers
October 22, 2017, 07:26:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: We are currently working towards fixing notifications. Thank you for your patience.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Racepak iq3s digital dash  (Read 1009 times)
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« on: July 20, 2017, 04:29:06 AM »

Is anybody running one?  Pros cons?  I'm thinking about running one in the new YJ buggy I'm building as it'd be so easy to just plug it into the ecm/obd2 port and be done! 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 01:09:16 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:32:43 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2017, 08:03:07 AM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:33:01 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2017, 06:40:58 PM »

my ecm is a '11 model so should work there.  I haven't seen anything on their website saying it is waterproof/resistant do you know for a fact it is?  That was one of my main concerns. 
I also read that some people say you can't read them with polarized glasses on, do you know if there is any truth to that?
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2017, 07:33:35 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:33:19 PM by Waffle » Logged
mcutler
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 850



« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 08:03:49 PM »

I had the street racepak in my buggy for four years,  sorry don't remember the model number. Didn't use their canbus but did use their senders (which looked identical to autometer senders) . Worked fine and as advertised,  but I never really liked it.  Like you,  I was initially excited about all the features, lights,  fan,  warnings,  headlight and turn signal indicators,  etc. But my one issue was that the display only had (iirc) four configurations,  and I could never see all the parameters I wanted to see at the same time without checking through the different screens. For instance,  on the main one I watched it had mph/rpm/water temp/ oil pressure/ fuel level. But to see trans temp and volts,  I had to cycle two screens... pain in the ass. But the biggest problem I had with it, at a glance in extreme situations,  it was to much info in a glance;  especially if you are on the wrong screen,  lol.  I decided I preferred individual gauges installed directly in my line of sight,  the racepak I had center mass.

Yes it was hard to read with polarized glasses, and the backlight started going out. Seemed fine with water and dust, on my buggy anyway.

But I did take it out finally and replaced with glow shift maxx tow (dual gauges-analog and digital readout on same gauge) . As also installed dummy lights on water temp, oil pressure,  and fan switches. Much happier with great lighting and less confusion.

The manche will probably get canbus analog gauges to tie into Mast computer.

(No longer have the buggy)


I still have the race pack and manual and a couple senders if someone wanted it,  but the backlight only half works.  I'm sure they would repair it. I'm not sure if I still have the crimps for the mass plug in to redo the plug to your liking though.






Sent from my SM-G925R4 using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2017, 08:09:39 AM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:33:55 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2017, 04:05:07 PM »

Thanks for all the info and yes I am looking at the iq3. I'll have to check out the haltech. I know the aim units and autometer one was a little more than I wanted to spend.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2017, 12:18:13 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:34:14 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2017, 01:28:54 PM »

That was my thought also. I was planning on using the obd2 for all engine functions and use hardwired sensors for power steering and transtemp. Having to swap things up a bit as I'm not going to be running the 6L90 anymore and just going to run a built 400. I really think I'm going to try it but for a grand it'd suck to have a light sprinkle kill it.
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2017, 03:32:38 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:34:51 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2017, 03:34:51 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:35:09 PM by Waffle » Logged
mcutler
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 850



« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2017, 06:57:15 PM »

For an extra step in protection you can get a clear poly cover that snaps over the entire face. This is what I'd do, then hot glue or silicone any gaps surrounding the back edge where the cover meets the housing.
If it's not vacuum sealed it will still fog though.  Never had any issues in my open cockpit buggy with water,  of course I never tried to drown it either.

Sent from my SM-G925R4 using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2017, 05:58:46 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:35:27 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2017, 06:13:39 PM »

the aim strada have caught my attention but like you I'm leary of the size.  I don't want to deal with it on the steering wheel but I also want to be able to see it!  I'm to the point now that I've researched and looked so long I have to pull the trigger soon before I lose my mind.  I am almost thinking the AEM CD7 would work and isn't much more expensive and has a 7" display.  Have you looked at it any?  What are your thoughts? 
Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #15 on: August 12, 2017, 06:22:08 PM »

found the harness for the cd7 its a whopping $32 for direct plug and play obd2 connection...  We may have a winner here..



Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2017, 07:43:12 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:36:25 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #17 on: August 12, 2017, 08:15:51 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:36:44 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2017, 09:40:34 PM »

I did look at it, but there's no way I could use it according to what I've read.

So far, I'm reading it like this..... It has no analog inputs, so expansion to cheap sensors like something to monitor power steering temp isn't there. I've looked for proprietary canbus connected pressure and temp sensors (like how Racepak has v-net), but I cannot find any. It would be nice to monitor additional temp and pressures that the ecu does not see and label it as well, but I don't see how. If you want to add gps sensor for speed you have to buy an additional $375 AEM Vehicle Dynamics Module (PN 30-2203) or spend $1600 on them both. I can't find anything about expansion to anything other than a logger. Looks like you can buy their $$ xgauges then hook to the dash. Ugh, ok lol.

Maybe I'm missing something and just can't find the info. Idk.

Says right here that it won't work with just any canbus connection. It's meant for AEM ecu's first. All others are considered 3rd party and you may have to mess with additional programming to make it all work. The more I read the more I don't like it. My guess is, don't buy it without AEM answering all of your questions.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://aemelectronics.com/%3Fq%3Dforum/cd-7-and-cd-7l-faq&ved=0ahUKEwj4_bDiotPVAhUB7yYKHb3PCgoQFggeMAE&usg=AFQjCNH3L45QMAFb2XNChCt4Q1xl15P6HQ

Not sure your year model ecm but it looks like it would work the same as the racpak with 2008 or newer with the firmware updates.

"With the release of CD-7 software version 1.01.0X, all CD-7 Digital Dash Displays have the ability to read CAN bus data from the OBDII port of 2008-up vehicles with a simple firmware update to DashDesign software version 1.01.04b. To help with the installation, AEM has also made it easy to connect to the OBDII port by creating an optional CD-7 OBDII CAN Sub Harness (PN 30-2217) that provides plug & play access between the CD-7 harness and the vehicles OBDII connector. AEM’s CD-7 Plug & Play Power Cable is included with the OBDII Plug & Play Adapter Harness to make an easy power and ground connection for powering the dash."

http://www.aemelectronics.com/products/cd-7-obdii-can-plug-play-adapter-harness

I'm going to have to talk to them a little about if you can add on sensors for it.  I really don't "need" to monitor other temps like power steering but wouldn't mind being able to.  Thinking about it though, now that I have scrapped the 6L90 and going to run a built 400 I'm going to HAVE to have something that can run other sensor as I won't be able to get a trans temp through the ecm anymore....   

damnit.

Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #19 on: August 12, 2017, 09:57:08 PM »

I've looked at the holley before but didn't see anywhere that said it could be used with any obd2 ecm.  I'm thinking it was made to run their ecm?
Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2017, 10:10:43 PM »

...and here is the solution for running analog gauges on the cd-7...

https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-analog-to-can-converter/

supposedly from an old post on their forum though AEM is making their own version

Shit is getting expensive... 
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 10:15:18 PM by mitchw123456 » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #21 on: August 12, 2017, 10:40:59 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:36:59 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #22 on: August 12, 2017, 11:27:33 PM »

So what's a poor man supposed to do for a display big enough to read?  Win the lotto?  Kind of looks like it.  At $1900 in might as well spend $2500 on auto meter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2017, 12:27:51 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:37:16 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 174



« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2017, 12:59:36 PM »

.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 09:37:38 PM by Waffle » Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!