Hardline Crawlers
August 19, 2017, 11:27:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Check out the Calendar for all upcoming rides and competitions.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Racepak iq3s digital dash  (Read 789 times)
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« on: July 20, 2017, 04:29:06 AM »

Is anybody running one?  Pros cons?  I'm thinking about running one in the new YJ buggy I'm building as it'd be so easy to just plug it into the ecm/obd2 port and be done! 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 01:09:16 PM »

What yr is your ecu? To use the racepak iq3 and all it's features with the obd2 interface your ECU must be 08 and newer with built in can-bus protocols. Pre can-bus obd2 cannot stream fast enough to keep up. This will be very noticeable with the tach and rpm readout will be practically useless.

My buggy is lq4 with a 2000 LS1 ecu pre-canbus and I wanted the same thing you want, but research and calls to Racepak n Halltech taught me don't do it.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 10:47:01 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2017, 08:03:07 AM »

Having said that I still think it's cool as hell and well worth the $. Based on my use of one (in someone else's car) here's my .02

Pros:
USA company with great customer service
Water, dust, shock resistant
Consolidates all gauges into one unit
Small and works well mounted on the column
Easily customized to fit your needs
Adjustable backlit for night or day
Adjustable hi and low warning lights
You can set it to turn on/off fan relays
Shift light is fully adjustable with multiple configurations
Wiring and connectors are all high quality
Expandable and each gauge can be labeled how you want it
Each gauge can be positioned where you want it
street version can signal hi beams turn signals and check engine light
Alot cheaper than buying (quality) individual gauges
waaaaaaaay cheaper than Motec

Cons:
it's not a Motec
reputation for its pc setup software to be the most complicated of any display
Digital....I prefer full sweep analog but maybe it just takes some getting used to.
Blue is the only color and it's backlit. I'd prefer the option of numbers lit at night
Small, so the closer you mount it to you the better
Standard versions require their own proprietary senders which aren't cheap

That's all I can think of.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 02:26:14 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2017, 06:40:58 PM »

my ecm is a '11 model so should work there.  I haven't seen anything on their website saying it is waterproof/resistant do you know for a fact it is?  That was one of my main concerns. 
I also read that some people say you can't read them with polarized glasses on, do you know if there is any truth to that?
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2017, 07:33:35 PM »

That might be true about the glasses. Not sure though.

I talked to racepak last year about its weather resistance. It comes with an ip rating (cant remember which, maybe ip64). You could look up the rating they post then crosscheck what the criteria is to meet that rating. You'll be suprised if you do call them. Very friendly. Very knowledgeable and more than welcome to answer your questions since it might mean selling their product.

Good for you having an 11 year ecu. That will help alot and you can always add analog to expand it for things like trans temp and power steering temp. Just beware, the extra v-net style sensors n wiring is expensive if you start adding stuff.

Another one to look at is the AIM mxs strada street. Smaller (better mount it on column or in cluster in front of you), more expensive, but much higher ip rating (think its ip67 which can be pressure washed) and it has full color display which can be customized to show different layouts. It's sweet!
« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 07:34:47 PM by Waffle » Logged
mcutler
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 758



« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 08:03:49 PM »

I had the street racepak in my buggy for four years,  sorry don't remember the model number. Didn't use their canbus but did use their senders (which looked identical to autometer senders) . Worked fine and as advertised,  but I never really liked it.  Like you,  I was initially excited about all the features, lights,  fan,  warnings,  headlight and turn signal indicators,  etc. But my one issue was that the display only had (iirc) four configurations,  and I could never see all the parameters I wanted to see at the same time without checking through the different screens. For instance,  on the main one I watched it had mph/rpm/water temp/ oil pressure/ fuel level. But to see trans temp and volts,  I had to cycle two screens... pain in the ass. But the biggest problem I had with it, at a glance in extreme situations,  it was to much info in a glance;  especially if you are on the wrong screen,  lol.  I decided I preferred individual gauges installed directly in my line of sight,  the racepak I had center mass.

Yes it was hard to read with polarized glasses, and the backlight started going out. Seemed fine with water and dust, on my buggy anyway.

But I did take it out finally and replaced with glow shift maxx tow (dual gauges-analog and digital readout on same gauge) . As also installed dummy lights on water temp, oil pressure,  and fan switches. Much happier with great lighting and less confusion.

The manche will probably get canbus analog gauges to tie into Mast computer.

(No longer have the buggy)


I still have the race pack and manual and a couple senders if someone wanted it,  but the backlight only half works.  I'm sure they would repair it. I'm not sure if I still have the crimps for the mass plug in to redo the plug to your liking though.






Sent from my SM-G925R4 using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2017, 08:09:39 AM »

You had the UDX that lights up green, but I'm guessing he's actually interested in the IQ3 dash (pictured below) which will show 7 parameters on the main page.

Btw, you prob know haltech has the same thing. I noticed that they came out with their street version last year and its rpm limit goes to 8k vs racepak 9k. Check with them to see what else is different.

« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 08:35:55 AM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2017, 04:05:07 PM »

Thanks for all the info and yes I am looking at the iq3. I'll have to check out the haltech. I know the aim units and autometer one was a little more than I wanted to spend.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2017, 12:18:13 PM »

The autometer dash and AIM mxg 7" are both around $2500. Too rich for me. The AIM mxs strada street is about $1200, but it's screen is only 5" diagonal which means it's practically a must to be mounted on a steering wheel.

I was going to go with Spek-Pro gauges because they advertise the face buttons as being sealed, but when I called (autometer owns spek now) they said the buttons are not water resistant. Same with the Autometer elite face buttons. Autometer now has the waterproof front & back extreme environment lineup, but I don't like the dial number spread at all or the very limited gauge range.

I have 1 Speedhut Revolution warning gauge that has held up well to water and dust. You can customize them in nearly any way imaginable, which I love. The bezel spins on so you can add a bit of silicone to the glass and body edge, which I did. Still, nothing you can do with the back of the gauge and I really don't like the wiring and the EL lighting converter box that each gauge needs. It just clutters up everything.

So, I'm back to looking at a digital dash that can handle the elements and I'm tempted to try the IQ3 street. If I stick with this version which comes with 3 sensors I can do everything I need out of the box. Tach, volts, oil press, water temp, trans press. I'd probably add power steering temp as well.
Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2017, 01:28:54 PM »

That was my thought also. I was planning on using the obd2 for all engine functions and use hardwired sensors for power steering and transtemp. Having to swap things up a bit as I'm not going to be running the 6L90 anymore and just going to run a built 400. I really think I'm going to try it but for a grand it'd suck to have a light sprinkle kill it.
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2017, 03:32:38 PM »

Here's the mention of water taken directly from the manual. When I talked to racepak they told me it's designed to handle open cockpits. They told me don't spray it directly with a pressure washer.
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2017, 03:34:51 PM »

For an extra step in protection you can get a clear poly cover that snaps over the entire face. This is what I'd do, then hot glue or silicone any gaps surrounding the back edge where the cover meets the housing.
Logged
mcutler
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 758



« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2017, 06:57:15 PM »

For an extra step in protection you can get a clear poly cover that snaps over the entire face. This is what I'd do, then hot glue or silicone any gaps surrounding the back edge where the cover meets the housing.
If it's not vacuum sealed it will still fog though.  Never had any issues in my open cockpit buggy with water,  of course I never tried to drown it either.

Sent from my SM-G925R4 using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2017, 05:58:46 PM »

Good point about fogging. I came across a review comparison that includes the iq3 dash and it stated that it's ip64 rated. For rain it's good to go, but you will have to be careful when cleaning. In another review it was stated as being very difficult to see with polarized sunglasses.

This is one comparison I found which includes the iq3 and AIM mxs strada. Note: The mxs strada is the non-logger version and is much cheaper now. About $200 more than the iq3 street bit rated higher at ip65 (water jets), red/green/blue led warnings that allow you to change the color of warmings and shift light, aluminum housimg, full custom color tft display and the best configuration software. Biilt in gps module for speed. If you can keep it close to ya (behind the wheel) the parameters should be large enough. You can get it in street icons version also!
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.nzefi.com/affordable-display-digital-dash-shootout-racepak-iq3-street-vs-aim-mxs-strada-vs-race-technology-dash2-pro-picked/&ved=0ahUKEwiMstnuvdDVAhUS0IMKHRpIBRcQFggcMAA&usg=AFQjCNGM0gKHiQz3R0iJo6vzMExX1vmm4Q

Here's a link to the AIM mxs strada (non logger). http://www.aim-sportline.com/eng/products-car/mxs-strada/index.htm
I'm seriously considering this one now.

So far, I'm finding the AIM obd2 cable for $50 which is way cheaper than racepak. Still reasearching bout it. Good luck with whatever you choose.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 10:30:20 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2017, 06:13:39 PM »

the aim strada have caught my attention but like you I'm leary of the size.  I don't want to deal with it on the steering wheel but I also want to be able to see it!  I'm to the point now that I've researched and looked so long I have to pull the trigger soon before I lose my mind.  I am almost thinking the AEM CD7 would work and isn't much more expensive and has a 7" display.  Have you looked at it any?  What are your thoughts? 
Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #15 on: August 12, 2017, 06:22:08 PM »

found the harness for the cd7 its a whopping $32 for direct plug and play obd2 connection...  We may have a winner here..



Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2017, 07:43:12 PM »

I did look at it, but there's no way I could use it according to what I've read.

So far, I'm reading it like this..... It has no analog inputs, so expansion to cheap sensors like something to monitor power steering temp isn't there. I've looked for proprietary canbus connected pressure and temp sensors (like how Racepak has v-net), but I cannot find any. It would be nice to monitor additional temp and pressures that the ecu does not see and label it as well, but I don't see how. If you want to add gps sensor for speed you have to buy an additional $375 AEM Vehicle Dynamics Module (PN 30-2203) or spend $1600 on them both. I can't find anything about expansion to anything other than a logger. Looks like you can buy their $$ xgauges then hook to the dash. Ugh, ok lol.

Maybe I'm missing something and just can't find the info. Idk.

Says right here that it won't work with just any canbus connection. It's meant for AEM ecu's first. All others are considered 3rd party and you may have to mess with additional programming to make it all work. The more I read the more I don't like it. My guess is, don't buy it without AEM answering all of your questions.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://aemelectronics.com/%3Fq%3Dforum/cd-7-and-cd-7l-faq&ved=0ahUKEwj4_bDiotPVAhUB7yYKHb3PCgoQFggeMAE&usg=AFQjCNH3L45QMAFb2XNChCt4Q1xl15P6HQ
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 08:36:50 PM by Waffle » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #17 on: August 12, 2017, 08:15:51 PM »

Have you seen the Holley dash? They have a standalone version for $1000. 7" color touch screen. Sensors. Includes gps speedo. Virtual switches on the touchscreen. Its not obd2 but whats 2 wires for each parameter. Nbd if you ask me. Customizing isn't just picking colors or predetermined layouts, its way beyond that! Standalone should get rid of the power up lag that obd2 gauges tend to have.They call it waterproof, not sure what ip rating it has. Analog expandable. The housing would look goofy mounted by itself on a column or to tube, but against a dash or panel (or flush behind a panel) would be killer.

https://www.holley.com/products/fuel_systems/fuel_injection/gauges_and_displays/lcd_displays/

Here's a pdf link to the user manual to show what all it can do, and boy can it do a lot! I'm kinda diggin this one (though I'd have to make a half moon frame for it cause a box shaped display looks fuggly). It says (no high pressure water streams and use a microfiber cloth to clean) sounds like ip64 like the Racepak iq3.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://documents.holley.com/199r10746rev1.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwjdzorMrdPVAhXFeSYKHYEED_wQFgggMAE&usg=AFQjCNExPvf2IDsvINtY-mpVJnza2mLWRw
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 09:33:46 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2017, 09:40:34 PM »

I did look at it, but there's no way I could use it according to what I've read.

So far, I'm reading it like this..... It has no analog inputs, so expansion to cheap sensors like something to monitor power steering temp isn't there. I've looked for proprietary canbus connected pressure and temp sensors (like how Racepak has v-net), but I cannot find any. It would be nice to monitor additional temp and pressures that the ecu does not see and label it as well, but I don't see how. If you want to add gps sensor for speed you have to buy an additional $375 AEM Vehicle Dynamics Module (PN 30-2203) or spend $1600 on them both. I can't find anything about expansion to anything other than a logger. Looks like you can buy their $$ xgauges then hook to the dash. Ugh, ok lol.

Maybe I'm missing something and just can't find the info. Idk.

Says right here that it won't work with just any canbus connection. It's meant for AEM ecu's first. All others are considered 3rd party and you may have to mess with additional programming to make it all work. The more I read the more I don't like it. My guess is, don't buy it without AEM answering all of your questions.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://aemelectronics.com/%3Fq%3Dforum/cd-7-and-cd-7l-faq&ved=0ahUKEwj4_bDiotPVAhUB7yYKHb3PCgoQFggeMAE&usg=AFQjCNH3L45QMAFb2XNChCt4Q1xl15P6HQ

Not sure your year model ecm but it looks like it would work the same as the racpak with 2008 or newer with the firmware updates.

"With the release of CD-7 software version 1.01.0X, all CD-7 Digital Dash Displays have the ability to read CAN bus data from the OBDII port of 2008-up vehicles with a simple firmware update to DashDesign software version 1.01.04b. To help with the installation, AEM has also made it easy to connect to the OBDII port by creating an optional CD-7 OBDII CAN Sub Harness (PN 30-2217) that provides plug & play access between the CD-7 harness and the vehicles OBDII connector. AEM’s CD-7 Plug & Play Power Cable is included with the OBDII Plug & Play Adapter Harness to make an easy power and ground connection for powering the dash."

http://www.aemelectronics.com/products/cd-7-obdii-can-plug-play-adapter-harness

I'm going to have to talk to them a little about if you can add on sensors for it.  I really don't "need" to monitor other temps like power steering but wouldn't mind being able to.  Thinking about it though, now that I have scrapped the 6L90 and going to run a built 400 I'm going to HAVE to have something that can run other sensor as I won't be able to get a trans temp through the ecm anymore....   

damnit.

Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #19 on: August 12, 2017, 09:57:08 PM »

I've looked at the holley before but didn't see anywhere that said it could be used with any obd2 ecm.  I'm thinking it was made to run their ecm?
Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2017, 10:10:43 PM »

...and here is the solution for running analog gauges on the cd-7...

https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-analog-to-can-converter/

supposedly from an old post on their forum though AEM is making their own version

Shit is getting expensive... 
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 10:15:18 PM by mitchw123456 » Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #21 on: August 12, 2017, 10:40:59 PM »

...and here is the solution for running analog gauges on the cd-7...

https://gaugeart.com/product/gaugeart-analog-to-can-converter/

supposedly from an old post on their forum though AEM is making their own version

Shit is getting expensive...  

Yeah it is. So, if you want an obd2 can-bus CD-7 (non-logger) that reads mph and is able to add additional sensors your starting point is $1900. No thanks. I'd be worried about dust and moisture in the can converter also.  I cant find shit for reviews either, other than paid spokeman type videos. No comparisons, Nothing! Something tells me, on the track and for dash display, people look elsewhere.

« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 11:20:34 PM by Waffle » Logged
mitchw123456

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #22 on: August 12, 2017, 11:27:33 PM »

So what's a poor man supposed to do for a display big enough to read?  Win the lotto?  Kind of looks like it.  At $1900 in might as well spend $2500 on auto meter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2017, 12:27:51 PM »

Thing is, the dashes we are looking at are all race dashes and in racing the driver doesn't look at gauges. He looks at the course and has the warnings lights setup in the line of sight to flash only when something is abnormal. I like this even for trail use. To me, staring down the barrel of 7 analog gauges leads to eye fatigue and a loss of concentration of what's in front of you.

I also think that the lcd screen size is more about display position in the cockpit. The goal is the get all the info in front of you and not have gauges positioned that force you to look right and down. That means 2 sizes fit the bill. The smaller 5" display works when mounted close behind the wheel. The larger 7" display works when mounted further back on a dash panel (still behind the wheel) such as a typical instrument cluster. I made a cardboard cutout of an iq3 and when mounted right behind the wheel of my buggy (mine is a smaller diameter wheel) my hand covered a lot of info including warning lights and I can't move it further away because of chassis tube holding the orbital. So for me, it looks like a 5" display will work best. For you on the other hand it sounds like you can't mount close to the wheel so I see why the 7" is what you're looking for. Obviously, larger means more expensive.

Perhaps you should wait for the SEMA show in October and see if anything new will be revealed. To me, it seams plausible for AIM to release a non-logger version of the 7" MXG since it's a newly released product, which would knock the price down to around $1500. Just like they did with the 5" MXS logger to the MXS strada non logger ($2300 dropped to $1300).
Logged
Waffle
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 147



« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2017, 12:59:36 PM »

One can dream can't they?

Here's a 12" display Motec c1212. About $3800.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!