• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Vertical Mills - Things to look at when buying.

bbtank45

Under Construction
I am looking at adding a few new tools to my shop over the next couple years; one tool I thought that could be quite useful for all my steel projects would be a vertical mill. I have no personal experience with a mill, but I think it would have made a lot of other projects a lot easier. This would be used for personal projects only...not commercial use. Primary uses would be drilling, notching tube, occasional boring....and anything else i could learn to do with it.

From those that have one, or experience....

Do you use it enough to justify owning it?
Hindsight 20/20, would you replace it with another tool instead?
If buying one, what would u be looking for as primary features?

Thanks for the help HL.

Digital readout would be nice. Rotary table would be nice. Super spacer. Good American made drills. Edge finder. Test indictor Indexing cutters. Plus a 100 other things.

A good calculator and some basic trig knowledge you can do alot.

Oh and dont be a new and start it out gear. Ha

I have a mill in my shop and yea it is cool to have it but I barely use it it can be the best thing in the world if you have the time to setup each task and the tooling for each task it requires a lot of stuff to be able to get stuff done if you don't have a lathe I would highly recommend getting one of those first you can do so much more with it and a lot less tooling

kmcminn said:
A lathe with 6 inch through hole would be badass for driveshafts and links. A lathe with that big of a through hole would be a huge unit and expensive.

I've used a huge old lathe with a 5" thru hole, that the bed was cut down on so it would fit in the building. It was originally a 25ft+ bed I think, cut down to 6-7ft.

Story was, it was one of those "free if you move it" deals.

Even if you don't do much real machine work, a mill is the best drill press that you'll ever use laughing1