• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Wilwood break question

30th6

I have wilwood manual breaks on my buggy. The front m/c is a 3/4 and the rear is 7/8. The buggy has 1/2 Chevy calipers on all 4 corners. The guy at wilwood is the one that suggested the mc sizes, but the front breaks suck. The pedal goes all the way to the floor, while the pedal for the rear barely moves. I looked on line and people was talking about using residual pressure valves to get better breaks. I ordered one for each mc and I called wilwood to see where I needed to install them. They told me i didn't need them if my mc was higher than the calipers. He also told me i should use a 7/8 for the front breaks.
I do not have a balance bar, each mc is separate from each other, each master cylinder controls an axle
I'm lost at this point,It's my first time using manual breaks.
Do I need the residual pressure valves?
Or do I need the 7/8 mc?
I don't want to keep throwing money at it and not fix it

fcb65fc6b90a0f77093eaacea69ceedf.jpg

I'm in almost same boat. I have an 04 model with the factory disc brakes and 3/4 mc and brakes sucks. Front is a new SD axle with lugnut 4x4 brake kit with 3/4 mc, and they aren't the best, but alot better than the rear

I run the same set up, as far as independent systems for front and rear. I had good luck with 7/8 MC when I had 1/2-3/4 ton chevy calipers. I ran and still run a residual valve right off the MC for both MC's. Maybe 6" down stream from MC. The residual valve just keeps pressure on the line so you don't have to "pump" the brakes to build pressure.

7/8 MC for both makes sense. But before you run out and buy another MC, I would put the residual valve on each. Bleed the hell out of each system and see what you get. Which ever feels and works better, THEN buy a matching MC.

Is the front pedal firm to the floor or soft? Can you pump it up?

Does the rear work, or just stiff?

I haven't ran the numbers, but my guess is 7/8 is too big, without going boosted.