• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

coilovers vs. ORI struts

rockwhore

Subject: Coilovers vs ORI struts

Generally speaking I am a newbie. I have a solid self built Toyota buggy that I have been wheeling for close to ten years. It does well but
It is nothing like the kick butt buggies on here that I dream of owning.
That said, we are trying to build a "fat girl" / jimmy smith inspired rig for a buddy.
Specs=427 BBC, th400, 203/205, ouversoned fr &rr steer, 54" boggers. This is a first for us, everything else has been jeep or Toyota based.
We had decided on coilovers but recently heard about ORI struts. What is anyone's experience with the ORI units? is there a noticable difference between the hill sensing and standard struts? Coilovers are tried and true, although new to us, so we feel they are a save bet. What would you do if given the choice, coilovers or ORI, and reasons why? also, what should I expect to pay for an 18" set of struts? Thanks in advance for any response. the parks you guys are riding is where we plan on riding and Harlan, Ky. Thanks, Tom. :woody: I put the bird on there because my friends call me a pecker too.

I'm by no means an authority, but I'd put coilovers on it and never look back. Also I personally wouldn't spend the extra for 18's 16's are PLENTY, lots of people (including myself) use 14's in front and 16's in back. Packaging is easier and HOW MUCH travel are you really gonna use if you're setup right...

My .02
Good luck and post up a build thread!!

Coilovers for sure and like he said 14s in front and 16s in the rear, and why the doubler?

14's and 16's, i appreciate the insight. doublers? just for extra gearing, like i said we were used to toyota builds, and the doubler in them is awesome. so we figured what the heck. plus maybe it will slow him down enough to let us keep up.lol