• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Cummins Issue

xjmarc

Wannabe Bouncer
I feel like every topic I put on here is about my truck but it's getting old and falling apart I guess. Anyway it's a 97 12 valve and is pretty much stock except for a #10 fuel plate. I was towing the jeep this weekend and now when it has a load on it and hits around 18-22 pounds of boost it shakes. Not before or after and without the trailer it doesn't do it. Also if I get on it a little and let out quick it sounds like the sound you make when you stick your tongue out, the spitting sound. Sorry that's the best way I know to describe it. It does this without the trailer or load too, just hit about 15 psi and let off and it does it. I'm no diesel expert, guess I need to be the way things seem to be going with the truck but all I can think is maybe waste gate. It's coming from the passenger side so near the turbo. The fuel plate came with a fitting that replaced the elbow off the turbo that attached to the hose that feeds the waste gate with a straight one that is restricted. I've towed with it since the plate though and it just started doing this about an hour into my trip Friday and the whole way home yesterday. So lets hear from those who know more than me which is most of you as to what it may be. Thanks

It is not good to get on the throttle hard and then let off. The charged air overcomes the exhaust gas and tries to forces the turbine to spin the other way making a fluttering sound. That can break the shaft on the turbo. Not sure about the shaking.

Sawzall said:
It is not good to get on the throttle hard and then let off. The charged air overcomes the exhaust gas and tries to forces the turbine to spin the other way making a fluttering sound. That can break the shaft on the turbo. Not sure about the shaking.