• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

hydro steering fluid?

i've been running the amsoil for a few years, what issues were yall have'n? my pumps seem like they get weak over time.

We used to run this on our comp rig and had the same issues, changed to regular power steering fluid and been fine ever since. This was with a hydro assist kit, all PSC parts except the box was a stock drilled/tapped one. When we switched to the power steering fluid we also changed to a PSC box, not sure if that has anything to do with it or not.

I have seen a lot of people say "don't run ATF", but I have been doing it for 10 years with no issues. Cheap pumps, Howe trophy truck pumps, PSC, POS etc. No issues at all with any of them. In fact the only time I have ever lost a pump was when running Amsoil. It was right when I became a dealer for POS and went with a good fluid on a new system. Pump didn't last a month. When I replaced the pump, I went back to using ATF and have had no issues since. The added bonus is that it cuts down on the amount and types of oil you carry with you.

fl-krawler said:
I have seen a lot of people say "don't run ATF", but I have been doing it for 10 years with no issues. Cheap pumps, Howe trophy truck pumps, PSC, POS etc. No issues at all with any of them. In fact the only time I have ever lost a pump was when running Amsoil. It was right when I became a dealer for POS and went with a good fluid on a new system. Pump didn't last a month. When I replaced the pump, I went back to using ATF and have had no issues since. The added bonus is that it cuts down on the amount and types of oil you carry with you.

Straight from PSC's instructions -

4. Fill reservoir with power steering fluid (NEVER use automatic transmission fluid). Leave the cap
off of the reservoir.