• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Retirement

When i was a 1099 contractor I saved 20% of everything and put it in a SEP fund. When i became an employee i hitting my max contributions on a 401k with a 6% company match.

my advice is don't finance a car ever! Save the amount you would spend on the car payment. you will have enough if your patient. Drive a beater when you are young so you can get a nice car in 5-8 years. Start saving as soon as you buy that one again for your next one.

By the way, we did hit over 30% return on all of our investments last year! Thanks Uncle Trump! That compounded interest is an impressive thing...

Last edited:
My current company doesn't have a match, so the part time jobs I have I put all of it into retirement 401k, and the roth.

Remember if you haven't maxed out the roth you have just a little time for 2020.

Only jumped into retirement investing last year sadly. We have 3 kids and my wife stays home with them. Two paid off cars, own half of our modest vinyl house (refi'd to a very low rate last year and 15 year note) and manage to save 1/4 of our monthly income. I squeak when I walk but don't feel like we need anything more than we have.
Currently working to max out our ROTHs as early in the year as possible, then put additional savings into a traditional ira and savings toward a rental property.

Google FIRE...it's an acronym for "financial independence retired early". Basic philosophy is that when you have 25x your annual expenses saved in investments, the dividends will cover them and you can retire. You mix reducing your lifestyle with very high savings rate to achieve "f**k you" money as early as possible. We are no where near that extreme but have implemented a lot of it.

Owning a trail rig and all the tools, trailer, and such that go with it sure put me in a conundrum since all this frivolity laughs in the face of my extreme retirement saving dreams.