• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Spinoff: Fab shop welder qualifications

J

Joc

Ill say this first off just to clear up any confusion about my qualifications for welding. I am by no means a certified welder but have worked with steel and welded for 8 years before I moved on to a different job. When I laid down my first bead my boss said it was better than 90% of other welders working there. It just came natural to me. Over the years I got pretty damn good at it BUT I am not a pro nor claim to be. I know a good weld when I see it and not all pretty welds hold as good as they look.

Anyways history class over..
As long as I've been in this hobby I have seen some pretty amazing welds(if thats what you want to call some of them). I realize alot of these rigs are built by regular joes in the shops on small incomes one piece at a time. So when I do see some sketchy weld or fab work I first take into consideration is it back yard fab or big name shop. We all see these rigs get sold traded etc but does anyone ever think about there own personal build being used by someone else down the road. Are you confident in YOUR work/welds that you would risk someones life in it other than your own?

Example...
In my early 20s when I was a welder I "bagged" my own s10 which involved alot of torch use and welding. That was MY truck and though I was not a pro at welding I had confidence in my own work b/c it was MY life on the line as it was my daily driver. Well now a buddy wants me to do his and I stressed the point of my welds/ my life vs my weld/his life bc even though I knew I could do it I just never had a good feeling knowing my work could cost him his life if something broke going 80 down the road. Well I agreed and that day we did his truck and the front of another buddy of ours truck. Over the years I never heard of any problems thank God. To this day I'd probably turn down obscene amount of money to finish weld a buggy.

Main point of all this...