• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Wandering Frenchie news

Bebop

Hi guys,

I'm going to make it short, but here is a little recap of my situation :

My contract is finished at the end of this week.
I managed to find and sign for a job in Southern Indiana.
It's a great position, moving my career forward and keeping me in an industry I like (I'm an automotive engineer) in a great company.

I'm very happy ! 8)

Now, for the less fun and scary part :

I am in the process to get a new visa. I cannot renew the one I have RN, I need a new one.
To do so, I need to leave the country, go back to France, apply there, pass the character interview again and come back.
This process can take 3 days to 3 months or more and there is no guaranty of a positive outcome. I might very well be denied (happened to the person who was supposed to replace me at work) and no reason why will ever be disclosed.

Sooooo I've got two choices :

1) Sell everything, move back to France, get a visa and move back to the US. In case I don't get a visa, no big deal, all my stuff is already in France. But moving overseas twice is extremely expensive (around 15k$)
2) Pack all my stuff in a storage unit, go back to France, get a visa and come back with everything here waiting for me. If everything works out like it's supposed to, I'll save a lot of $ by doing so. But if I can't get a visa, I'm basically hosed as I can't access my possessions again.

I'm a positive person, and will go out on a limb and take the option 2. But I'm of course worried about the outcome of all of this.

Now, I have 3 weeks of vacation before my visa expires (end of April), and I'll try to use them to cross items of my bucket list.

I want to go to EJS. It's in one week, I've got nothing planned, IDK how I'll go, nor sleep, nor ride over there, but I really want to see Moab.
I want to rent a Jeep and drive the Rubicon.
And last but not least, I want to see and hike the Grand Canyon.

#mylife