Votes: 5 14.3%
  • Blue Top

Votes: 5 14.3%
  • Exide Orbital

Votes: 7 20.0%
  • Odyssey PC 1700

Votes: 6 17.1%

• Total voters
I have been running a red top for 5 years but all the cool kids have the odyssey's so I will switch over when mine craps out:redneck:

i have yet to cross over to the dark side and get an AGM battery. ive always been happy with a conventional battery. but being how you can mount a dry one however you want makes them pretty versitale. ill have to get one someday and see how i like them for myself.

I chose Blue Top, cuz it's what I have---had a redtop for 4yrs before that (sat for 2yrs in my shop before putting it to use!)....In reality I just want one that works!!!:redneck:

Your best battery is a big 'ol hurking lead acid battery. Unfortunately, they wont fit in most rigs.

The advent of the spiral cell /cinamon roll dry Optima type batterys is not because they are better in terms of draw down and reliability: they're not. It's because they can produce adequate amperage to run your winch while still fitting in a standard battery tray.

Last edited:
I have a red top that I bought in about 1997 for my old K5. Since that time, it has been in a few other rigs and spent well over a year sitting on a shelf without charging. Been mostly discharged several times and seen plenty of winch duty. Despite my best efforts, the damn thing still works. When I bought it, a friend of mine gave me crap for spending so much money on a battery. In hindsight, it was a bargain.

Too bad the new ones don't seem to hold up as well. I don't know what I'll replace it with when it finally dies.

Your best battery is a big 'ol hurking lead acid bettery. Unfortunately, they wont fit in most rigs.

The advent of the spiral cell /cinamon roll dry Optima type batterys is not because they are better in terms of draw down and reliability: they're not. It's because they can produce adequate amperage to run your winch while still fitting in a standard battery tray.