• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Another airshock question

kyjari001

Haven't seen if this was discussed before, but I'm wondering if anybody knows what the maximum oil capacity is on Fox 2.0 12 inch travel shocks is or where to find such information. I know they come shipped with 270cc but I want to add more to try to get away from the body roll issue before I mount them. But I don't want to add enough for them to hydrolock. Sorry if this is a newb question but this is my first time running air shocks and I don't know much about them. Also I have read that they are shipped with 5 wt oil, and that is what I bought to put back in them, but I have seen guys on here recommend 7 wt. Does the 7 wt work better or should I just run what I have.

Re: Re: Another airshock question

From what I've read, 5-10cc added will make a noticeable difference and then add to that the difference of thicker oil also. I am in the same situation and have been researching a good bit on it over the past few months. Next time I'm on a computer, I will post links to the thread I've started on this and any other links I've found helpful.

Sent from my DROID4 using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

The 5-10cc thing may be a rule of thumb for bigger shocks, mine are 16's so that's what most of my research has been on. 5-10cc may make more of a difference in a smaller one like a 12. It seems to be mostly a trial and error deal. Add some, put em back on, try it out, and go from there.

Note: I still haven't tweaked my shocks any, this is just info from what I've gathered after lots of reading, so take it fwiw.