• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Business loan

grcthird

Birmingham, AL
Anybody have any input on the correct way to go about getting one? The property, building and equipment is essentially worth the asking price so the colatteral is there. This is one thing I have no experience with and need some opinions from folks that do. :dblthumb:

yeah you need to go to SBA and get an approval, once you have the approval, you can then go court banks for borrowing.
Banks don't tend to loan on anything commercial unless SBA signs off on it. So the bank gets to cover their ass.

Don't think about the "collateral" the way you would think of it the way they would. They are in the money lending game, not the owning of what you think has value or is valued for. They will look at collateral as firesale prices if not lower, for if they have to cut their losses on a default of the loan.

Buy a tanning bed. Try to burn yourself then but a dot on your forehead!!! Unfortunately!!!

Look into getting Business Plan Pro - It will help you develop a business plan, which you are going to need before anyone talks to you about loans.

InDaShop said:
yeah you need to go to SBA and get an approval, once you have the approval, you can then go court banks for borrowing.
Banks don't tend to loan on anything commercial unless SBA signs off on it. So the bank gets to cover their ass.

Don't think about the "collateral" the way you would think of it the way they would. They are in the money lending game, not the owning of what you think has value or is valued for. They will look at collateral as firesale prices if not lower, for if they have to cut their losses on a default of the loan.

Very true statements about collateral. Lenders still trying to recover their :cougar: from all the lost collateral in the housing markets.

One more thought, very rare to find 100% financing these days. Be prepared to put down at least 15-25% of the loan value.