• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Lathe work on hardened material

patooyee

I'm a amateur machinist, stress being on amateur. :)

I'm trying to cut some hardened shafts on my lathe and am having one hell of a time. Right now I am doing it with a minor degree of success, going as slow as I can bear to watch, going through bits quickly, there's some minor sparking. Its taking hours to do simple stuff that would take minutes on a non-hardened piece. Anyone got any advice?

Carbide bits should cut it unless it's really hard, I've got a diamond insert that I use on really hard junk but most of the time carbide will get the job done.just remember you want the heat in your chip not the part or cutter, you will get this by speed and feeds

Thanks, I'm using HSS bits right now so that could be a big part of my problem.

I don't think I trust myself with diamond. :)

I am correct to expect to have to go slower than unhardened though?

Yeah, carbide inserts are the minimum needed on hardened material. That high speed tool is probably close to same hardness as that shaft your are cutting which isn't going to work. Even with the proper tooling cutting hardened material can be a bitch to say the least. The steel with carbide braised on the end turning tool's generally aren't the best either. You may want to make sure your tool is not above the centerline, and rubbing instead of cutting.

patooyee said:

I prefer the 4 sided inserts with a 1/32 radius cutting tip iirc. I don't know that particular one. We used kennametal also. The salesman that came around would point us to the right insert for our holder if we were having issues with tool life or just wasn't working good for what we were doing. You can get into some money pretty quick when you start busting 10 dollar inserts.

I've used those in the past and liked them but cheaped out on my last buy because I never cut anything hardened. Of course now I need to cut hardened stuff and I'm out of the carbide bits.