• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Limit strap and bump placement.

Eddyj

So I'm setting up my bumps and limit straps. The problem I'm having is with a narrow buggy and wide axles. The coilovers mount about 8 inches further out on the axles then the bumps. So when I place the axle all the way up at full bump it's fine, but when I drop the opposite side all the way down (full drop) the shock still compresses another couple of inches.
I wanted to leave 1 inch of shock showing no matter how extreme the axle articulated, problem is I'm eating up about 4 to 5 inches of shock travel.
Is this a common problem or my just overthinking it. If I roll or jump in land awkward I don't want to bottom out my shocks.

Re:

I'd think if you were landing off center or whatever, hard/fast enough to damage a shock, you should have stiff enough valving to slow the shock speed down. And maybe put a shaft bump on the coilover itself.

Just my thoughts. I'm not an expert or experienced by any means.

From another thread.

How about a second shock that works as a bump stop and Limit strap? Mounts right next to your coilovers. Basically a hollow shock with a bump at top and bottom inside the body of shock. It would hand same travel as your coilovers and mounted to same bolts or right next to it like a bypass shock on a high end build. Would save your coilovers and you wouldn't have to worry about geometry of how your axle bottoms out.

Eddyj said:
How about a second shock that works as a bump stop and Limit strap? Mounts right next to your coilovers. Basically a hollow shock with a bump at top and bottom inside the body of shock. It would hand same travel as your coilovers and mounted to same bolts or right next to it like a bypass shock on a high end build. Would save your coilovers and you wouldn't have to worry about geometry of how your axle bottoms out.