• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

85 4 runner ?s

krackem

Build-Bend-Weld-Break -Repeat
OK so I acquired an 85 4 runner that ran and drove but was missing on cyl #2 and pulled the head to find a bent intake valve. Here's were the confusion starts for me as I'm new to Toyota's. :dunno: It is fuel injected 8 valve head so that is the 22re if I'm correct( only casting on head is #13 that I can find) and the block has the stamp 22r and and the pistons look to have and dual valve relief on the intake side and nothing on exhaust side of the piston. I'm fixing to start rebuilding this motor since I'm clueless of miles and abuse its been thru but is this a hybrid or a stock motor. I'd like to no so I don't waste money on wrong pasts. Also is it a good combo if its a hybrid and any help is appreciated guys :dblthumb:

Attachments

• Image07222012102412.jpg
    Image07222012102412.jpg
    288 KB · Views: 90
  • Image07162012190113.jpg
    Image07162012190113.jpg
    421.9 KB · Views: 83
Well I figured it out on my own 22r carb , 22re efi, 22ret turbo efi , motors are all the same except intake and exhaust manifolds.

I can't remember exactly how, but heads and blocks aren't always interchangeable. You'll want to double check before you start mixing it all up.

22R - Carb
22RE - EFI
22RET - Turbo'd

You are correct on the codes, though.

As for hybrid, I've heard a 20R head on a 22R produces more power. But, you'll wanna look that up.

22R changed in 84/85

Early 22R were "tall deck" motors with dome pistons.

Late (85-95) 22R/RE/RTE motors have the "short deck" motors. R/RE motors have "flat top" pistons.

RTE motors have dish pistons.

Timing sets are different between tall and short deck motors. Heads are the same on tall/short deck motors.

EFI intakes will swap on anything 83-up (pre 82 is not likely to have the correct pattern for the EFI intake).