• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

how do you fill the shocks properly?

chilly4x4

ok i am new to the rc crawling scene. i picked up an axial crawler and i love it. i had a problem of the shock coming apart on me and they of course spilled there guts. i filled the shocks by pushing the shock up and down while filling it, then when it will not take anymore oil while fully depressed i cap it off. is this right? my shocks are way to soft and torque twist is becoming an issue. i did use the silicon oil, thinking of switching to something thicker. am i on the right track?

ok i am new to the rc crawling scene. i picked up an axial crawler and i love it. i had a problem of the shock coming apart on me and they of course spilled there guts. i filled the shocks by pushing the shock up and down while filling it, then when it will not take anymore oil while fully depressed i cap it off. is this right? my shocks are way to soft and torque twist is becoming an issue. i did use the silicon oil, thinking of switching to something thicker. am i on the right track?

well you are o the right track of filling it and ys go to heavyier oil like 90 weight, as far as torq. twist you will never get rid of all f it enless you go moa,motor on axle. to help keep your shocks together put the top on and then run a zip tie around it. also to help with torq. twist go to a threaded adjustible shock and run stiffer springs, also you could run multiple springs on your shocks. hope this helps you :awesomework: if you need more help post it up or pm me and i can try o help or point you in the right direction to someone that can:awesomework: and welcome to the rc crawler world:cheer:

Torque twist can be an issue, but it can be controlled to a manageable level.
Assuming you're running an AX-10, I'd recommend a 4-link conversion be high on your list of upgrades. It will do a lot to help the twist, and improve the overall performance of your crawler.