• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Skool Me With Toyota Transmissions...

84Toyota4x4

Skool Me On Toyota Transmissions...

A comment was made in another thread in the Chatter Box, which lead me to some questions, and rather than COMPLETELY hijack that thread, I thought I would start a new one here. Heres what was going on in there...

Mark m. said:
Turbo engines are junk and the trannys have more problems than the W56s.
W56s commonly have problems? Hmmm... I'm still fairly new to all this crap, but I though the newer transmissions were the ones people wanted? My girls 4Runner has a W56 in it, and it doesn't like to go into first NEARLY as easy as my G54. Anything over about 10 MPH hers doesn't like to drop into first. Kind of obnoxious because when you're slowing down for a light or something, and you wanna slip it into first to go again because it turned green or whatever, it wont let you - it just grinds. So you end up going with 2nd, which bogs the motor and blah blah. My G54 would probably drop into 1st at nearly 30 if I wanted to. Maybe not, but you get the idea. Is that synchro problem a common problem with the W56s?

Are the trannies that have a lot of value that I seem to remember being sought after the W58s and the W56s out of the NEWER 4 cylinder trucks (89-98)? I thought the turbo R151F was a good HD transmission? Or are the G-series transmissions the good ones?

My other question then would be how do you setup dual cases? Do you need a transmission that was originally designed for a top shift case like the W56? Is THAT why they're so desirable? Or can you convert a forward shift tranny to be used with duals? Then you use two top shift cases, right? Either converted from forward shift, or originally top shift, it doesn't matter does it?