• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Charging a li-po

Bunk1

That nice azzhole
So i have a Dynamite vision peak ultra charger that does li-po's, And a 1900mah 7.4 2 cell li-po battery. With my regular ni-mh batteries(1100mah 7.2) i charge em at the 1 amp setting...Is that kosher with the li-po or should i up the amperage?

I also have to swap a deans plug on the battery, Being a total newb to the li-po scene...is there anything to be worried about?? Ive seen some gnarly vids of li-po's blowing up and want to avoid being in one of em. I do plan on getting one of those transport bags.

Thanks in advance..

You can charge a lipo up to 1C. What that boils down to is with a 1900mAh battery you can go to 1.9 amps and that's it.

examples:
1320mAh = 1.3 amps
1500mAh = 1.5 amps
2200mAh = 2.2 amps
3200mAh = 3.2 amps

When you put the deans plug on, make damn sure you do not cross the wires and let them touch. The battery won't explode instantly, but it could start to swell up, that's when you have to worry about the battery popping.

If you do touch the wires, just put the battery in a fire proof container for about 30 minutes and check it to see if it swells up.

thats not a balance charger. it will charge lipos but it is recomended to use a balance charger at least every 5 to 10 charges. I have the same charger and use about 4 different 4200lipos in my rigs. I use the peak charger sometimes to speed up the charge if in a hurry, but I mostly use a cheap 10to20 dollar Eflite helicopter charger most of the time.

your lipo has two cells insted of the 6 you had before. if either of the two cells get more than a tenth or two of a volt difference=presto flaming/exploding battery results.

ever notice you crodless drill and cell phone have multiple terminals to charge them? kinda weird huh? those three terminals on a drill or cell phone charger are 1 negitive and two positives (one for each cell). they charge each cell at the same rete and keep tham at the same voltage.