• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Samurai rear 4 link questions/help

xjtony

Trailer Park Gangsta
I'm wanting to do a 4 link on my samurai. I'm interested in any tips or designs that others have done on a Sammy. I remember seeing Kush's samurai build pics a while back but no clue where it is. I'm semi clueless to all the lingo in the geometry/setup. All I've gathered from reading is the lowers need to be as flat as possible to prevent rear steer, 8" or so vertical separation on the axle end, etc. I have limited knowledge on this. Just mainly looking for advice and what not. My samurai is toy axled,5.29's,6.5. Currently on leafs that are outboarded too much on the rear and suspension travel sucks because of it. Instead of moving the rear spring mounts around I figured linking it would just skip to the end of the line.

Just on a side note...I wouldn't mind seeing some photos of your current setup to understand what you're describing as your problems. Having the springs outboarded means you have more stability and it probably left you with a lower ride height. Having gobs of flex isn't the key...its transferring the traction to opposite tires. Look at it this way...if one rear tire is stuffed all of that weight is being transferred to the opposite front tire...which is usually a good thing since the front is typically what pulls you through an obstacle.

I ran my rig for several years with leafs at all 4 corners and loved it. The only reason I linked the rear was to try something new and challenge myself to build and wheel it. In other words I got bored with the current setup. Then I wheeled it with front leafs for another year or two and once again...decided to link the front because I was bored and wanted to try something new.

What I'm getting at is that the leafs were never the limiting factor on my rig...and I would think most guys here would agree the limiting factor is usually the driver and what you're willing to do to you and your rig on the trail.