• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

9" gear pattern check.

hokie_yj

This is my first time ever doing gears. Looking for some opinions on this pattern. It's a yukon 9" 3rd with yukon 5.13 gears. Backlash is a consistent .009" checked in about 8 places around the ring gear. Pinion shim is a .014". I used a pry bar between the ring and the case to load the gear for the pattern check. This is going in my rear engine buggy so it will be in an upside down application.

To me it looks decent, but again this is my first time so I'm looking for more opinions.

I think that looks a lot better, I would run it. I saw your post on pirate as well, throw it back up overthere and see what the others say, but I think its good.

9" gear pattern check.

yjwrangler95 said:
I think that looks a lot better, I would run it. I saw your post on pirate as well, throw it back up overthere and see what the others say, but I think its good.

I posted it there with .011" as well as someone said to take a couple more out. So I'm at .009" now.

I honestly don't see much difference between the two.

I cant see the pics at work, but I would focus on the coast side of the teeth for the front axle, as this will be where they are primarily running.

Re: 9" gear pattern check.

Here's where I ended up. Pinion shim is at .019". The backlash loosened up to a little over .010" but I think it will be ok.

your good, see the half moon shape, centered with a slight bit of paint showing boards the outside of the tooth. run it.

9" gear pattern check.

Thanks for the help man. Had a couple people respond on Pirate and say it looked good too. I got everything torqued down with loctite red. Now I just hope the other one I have to do turns out decent too.

Thanks man.