• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Broke in new Chainsaw finally

JBuck

Well finally got some free time to bread in my new saw. It is a Stihl MS460. All in all I only fell 5 tree's smallest was 16" going up to 40" or so. I burried my 36" bar, had to cut from both sides.

Trees002.jpg

Trees004.jpg

Trees005.jpg

And this is what happens when you are too slow with the wedge. It sat back on my bar and kinda got pinched. All of the limbs were on the opposite side of the way I wanted it to go.

Trees007.jpg

Trees008.jpg

Trees009.jpg

Had to take the power head off to make sure it didn't get damaged. But all it took was a block and warn.

Trees012.jpg

yeah I'm going to pick some smaller ones up. I only had the longer 12 inchers and I tried as soon as I could. I'm still a saw Noob though. Having one of my cousins come over and help tomorrow, he's a logger that knows what hes doing.

Had to do a double take 'cause those pics looked familiar... Then I realized it's because I had just seen your thread over on AS :haha: Always funny to run into people across boards :cool:

I've been bitten by those smaller DBH against the lean trees that are hard to get a wedge into early enough once or twice. Now I've learned to just do the back cut first, setting the back of the hinge and tapping a wedge in just enough to keep the kerf open. Then I'll cut the face and once I'm happy with it, drive the wedge home. Problem solved and haven't had an issue since.

BTW, if you don't already have it, I highly recommend "Professional Timber Falling" by Douglas Dent

17309_L.jpg

Read through it many times!! I personally like it better than "The Fundamentals of General Tree Work" by Jerry (G.F.) Beranek but both are excellent reads :awesomework:

Thanks for the titles. I'll have to look them up when I get home. I still got two acres to clear.

Thanks for the titles. I'll have to look them up when I get home. I still got two acres to clear.