• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Clocking down a 208???? (Flame suit on)

slytowncrawler2

Do work son
Have a customer. He is trying to make the local bogg this weekend to blow off some steam with the kids.
He has a Muncie and 205 but we are not ready to swap in yet...... I planned on clocking his case down to help with front shaft bind, so he can go splash through the mud this weekend an have a good time. I have never done this before either up or down ... My question is. Is this as simple as pulling case an dropping a bolt hole??? I'm sure the case won't receive oil properly and the linkage will be off. Again this is for this weekend or until we can do Muncie an 205 swap. Thanks again for any input

slytowncrawler2 said:
Have a customer. He is trying to make the local bogg this weekend to blow off some steam with the kids.
He has a Muncie and 205 but we are not ready to swap in yet...... I planned on clocking his case down to help with front shaft bind, so he can go splash through the mud this weekend an have a good time. I have never done this before either up or down ... My question is. Is this as simple as pulling case an dropping a bolt hole??? I'm sure the case won't receive oil properly and the linkage will be off. Again this is for this weekend or until we can do Muncie an 205 swap. Thanks again for any input
I don't know anything about the mounting pattern of a 208 but if it had a round pattern and can be clocked turn it down and ride out won't hurt anything!

Seems like the bolts were evenly spaced, if I remember correctly. But, seems like when we rotated to the next bolt it rotated it way to far. Its been a while back so maybe that's correct. We wanted it flat and that clocking ring was the only way we found to make it happen.
As far as toughness of the case, he ran his with rockwells and 46's. Held up pretty good, but not a bouncer.