• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Lets talk 60 front brakes...

zjtrey

the current front axle is a 78 ford 60..

I've been running the dual piston ford calipers for quite a few years and i've had problems all along but managed to get by. The majority of the problems come from the key and spring setup that retains the calipers.

I've modified the key setup to use more than one bolt to retain the key and that stopped the keys from falling out.. after that the springs wouldn't stay in and the calipers would bang around making ungodly noise.

At this point i'm either going to live with the banging around or swap over to chevy calipers somehow..

Is there a down and dirty way to do this cheaply?

I wouldn't mind using the blackbird customs brackets but you have to use their "modified" rotors? not really liking that idea or the cost of their "kit"...

There's gotta be a cheaper easier way...or maybe a good fix for the current setup...

Mine had 1/2ton Chevy calipers stock 3/4t rotors it had a flat plate that bolted to the spindle bolts and a 1/4" plate for a spacer? I don't know what company made them though!

Re: Re: Lets talk 60 front brakes...

I made new keys to go in mine, it seems that the brackets stretch over time

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

yeah i've done new keys multiple times...i'm tired of screwing with it really.. If i can swap over to chevy calipers on the cheap ill do it. if not i'll just live with the banging..

you could build a flat plate bracket and swap to some 93-97 model Land Cruiser calipers. They use a rotor that is basically the same exact size as the Ford Dana 60 (12.25" diameter, 1.25" thick).

Should be pretty easy to build a bracket, and the calipers just bolt on solid. They are nice 4 piston units.

getimage.php

TBItoy said:
you could build a flat plate bracket and swap to some 93-97 model Land Cruiser calipers. They use a rotor that is basically the same exact size as the Ford Dana 60 (12.25" diameter, 1.25" thick).