• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Mig Wire Q

.023" does pretty well for what you're after, .030" will work if you're patient, but it's not just the wire that makes the difference of a good weld or not....

Good Q... I'm new to mig welding with my ready welder(24v trail welder) and I'm almost out of my .035 flux core wire... Should I buy a smaller gauge next time? My heat range is controlled by line feed... And haven't had any problems so far with what I've got... Would something smaller gauge be a little more forgiving for 'on the trails'?

If you have a little wee wee machine like a 100 amp, then use .023 fgor everthing. Anything thicker will rob heat from the machine. It will waste current burning wire, not penetrating base metal.

If its a 140 amp model then you could use .030, but I prefer .023 in the 110 machines.

.030 tends to lay on top even with the machine ALL THE WAY UP.

Good Q... I'm new to mig welding with my ready welder(24v trail welder) and I'm almost out of my .035 flux core wire... Should I buy a smaller gauge next time? My heat range is controlled by line feed... And haven't had any problems so far with what I've got... Would something smaller gauge be a little more forgiving for 'on the trails'?

Do yourself a favor and ONLY use that thing for the trail.

Get a decent 220 volt mig welder for at home. If 220 is not an option, get at LEAST a 140 amp 110 model.

Using that ready welder is like punishment to me.

Well a friend has lent me his Licoln-100 /w.023/w.035 tip? I made a bunch'o test passes, with no penateration. The passes, all fell off/wtap of hammar:wtf: My friend mensioned maybe need bigger wire?

Well a friend has lent me his Licoln-100 /w.023/w.035 tip? I made a bunch'o test passes, with no penateration. The passes, all fell off/wtap of hammar:wtf: My friend mensioned maybe need bigger wire?

1 get the right tip.

2 turn the machine ALL THE WAY UP. (heat that is, not wire speed)