• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Transfer Cases?? PRO's and CON's (SCS, ATLAS, HERO)

ftoy516

NOT PART OF THE HERD!
North Georgia where people still believe in FREEDO
So, i have been wondering this.
The other Thread has touched on some of this but i thought it might could go in one place....i have been day dreaming about building a new rig, just the natural thing that happens to wheelers...wishing for more power ect....thinking about one of these behind a TH400.

what are your guys thoughts on the differences between these cases PRO's and CON's

First i wand to say that i have no experience with these cases other than helping install an ATLAS in a friends buggy.

One of the thoughts i had-i do like the idea of the Small SCS case but the only draw back i see is that you can't take it out of 4x4 unless you add the 2wd disconnect kit for an extra $700, but do you really need to front dig, and drive the ability to drive in 2wd? i usually drive mine i 4wd all of the time anyway, i have ARB's front and rear so i just unlock them in some places if necessary.

The Atlas and the SCS are close in price-but IS the SCS a better choice because its stronger, easier to package, have the ability to change the gears if necessary in the future?

Having Toyota stuff i like the idea of Flanges because to me they seem easy.

The Hero definitely has the higher price tag, but does that make it worth the extra cost?

Just wondering what others think about it that have experience with these cases....if you were to build a new rig would you change the case you have to something different, if so why?

I've ran a few Atlas 2 speeds and one Hero 2 speed. The only issue I've had with Atlas is they can be hard to shift if you're not on level ground. Hero is really expensive and massive in size so you have to plan around the size when you build, but it worked flawless and shifted easy.