• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Case spreader

"S"-box

Anyone have any tips/ideas about case spreaders? I'm going to re-gear a few rigs and I'm thinking about building my own setup! Any home made spreaders? I'm interested in pictures too. If not what do you'all use?

Anyone have any tips/ideas about case spreaders? I'm going to re-gear a few rigs and I'm thinking about building my own setup! Any home made spreaders? I'm interested in pictures too. If not what do you'all use?

I made my own, many years ago. Works good on dana 44s. If I were to do differentials for a living, I'd buy a professional tool. Haven't used it in years.

For that matter, I also have the bearing puller tool. That's a far more valuable tool. I traded some parts for it. Good tool to own.

I'm going to be doing a few. So it'll be worth my time, not sure I want to fork out cash on something I can build. I Mainly want to save the bearings and shims. I have done a couple installs on 44's and played with a 12 bolt a few times just wanting to make it a little easier. I have the puller part taken care of.:awesomework:

I'm going to be doing a few. So it'll be worth my time, not sure I want to fork out cash on something I can build. I Mainly want to save the bearings and shims. I have done a couple installs on 44's and played with a 12 bolt a few times just wanting to make it a little easier. I have the puller part taken care of.:awesomework:

The spreader needs a turnbuckle to 'open' the case. I bought a big one from Tacoma Screw, then cut it apart, and re-welded it into a much shorter configuration. It's not 'true', as it wobbles as it turns, but still works. That was the only issue I had when building mine. I got lucky in that I had some steel round stock that was the perfect diameter for the holes in the housings.