• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Easiest FI for a SBC?

64FJ40

This isn't even in the works at this point, but eventually there will be a SBC under the hood of the cruiser. I'm not opposed to a SBF, but at this point I've already got an SM420 mated to the tcase and I don't really have any plans to change that stuff much. I'm becoming increasingly dissatisfied with the old F motor and the limitations it presents (adapting EFI, mounting a PS pump, power limits, etc).

I'm basically going to be starting from scratch as far as motor and electronics go, so what would you do?

Get/build a carb'd 350 and adapt it (Pro-Jection, TBI, others?)

Get a roller/Vortec motor and the computers/sensors to run it stand-alone?

Another option?

As much as I'd love to just buy a RamJet, that's probably out of the realm of budgetary reality. :booo:

Well, that would get rid of the stinky gas tank under the passenger seat...

I'm a propane newb... Assuming I had a motor ready to go, how much $$ to get up and running?

You can piece parts together from ebay for prolly a few hundred.

Go to www.propaneguy.com (a lot of local guys swear by him) for about $400 for an average build.

www.gotpropane.com will run ya about $800 but Cary definitely sells quality stuff that includes every last hose and clamp you'd need.

Figure $90 a piece for used aluminum tanks.

Regardless, it gives you fuel injection benefits, needs one wire to run the solenoid, and simply replaces a carb. And you don't have to worry about thieves syphoning your gas :haha:

I gots all the wiring and intake and mumbo jumbo for a TBI setup, even a fuel pump and lines for a fuel cell:awesomework: If you ever want to just come and even look at it and see if it's a project you'd wanna take on you are more than welcome to stop by, just PM me if you want, I can kinda walk you through what i know of the system. But for being a wiring idiot it's not too bad, my dad wired the gauge cluster for me (setup for a Chevy LUV)