• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

new guy has some questions

Mattmitchell

Hey guys I'm new to the rock clawling/ bouncing thing and me and a buddy are looking to build a buggy of some kind. We like the idea of making a tubed from like all of the bouncing buggys I've seen but we wouldn't exactly be doing anything like what guy guys do. One there just not much like that anround here and two we don't exacly have all that much cash to play with. So here is what we where thinken:
Get an old truck pull the engine tranny and axless out
Get 200-300 feet of 1.75 diameter tubeing with an 1/8inch wall
And some shocks still have to look into thos. Like I said com plely new to this
And then lay it all out in the shop and start building the fram around it all. Probily going to get some plans to bace it off of but wanted to kno w if we where on the right track here. Thanks guys any help tips and info will help alot

Yea gotta get a bender and a new welder... someone droped the welder outts tthe truck when we where moven last week.... :mad:

But is that the bacic idea to get a worken buggy get the drivetrain and build around it? Seams do able to me just neew to get the cash and parts :dblthumb:

I suggest getting the old truck. Get it running well and put you some good tires and wheels on it. Then WHEEL IT. Look at what others have done. Look at what works and what doesn't. Make friends. Have fun. Then get a trailer so you can beat your stuff and not drive it home. Then WHEEL IT. Have fun. Start adding parts to make it better that will transfer to the new build when the time is right. In my opinion, you take a good truck, cut it up, buy a bender, welder, other tools, but lack skills. You are destined to FAIL.

JohnG said: