• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

newb question...

dr drae

So I'm new to RC crawling, picked up the AX10 as a beginner kit, getting it set up. Question has to do w/motor break in, anyone got a link to how to do this PROPERLY? I keep reading things about running it hooked up to C batteries in water to clean the motor. Water turns **** brown, dry the thing out and lube the piss out of it, supposedly doubles the life of the motor? Is this BS or what? How to best break in a motor?

thx!

it seems that you can, you just need to get some contact cleaner, and some spray lube that you can use afterwards to get rid of the water, and from what I can tell, it doesnt gain anything life wise, but you get the brushes seated faster and skip a step by doing it in the water

got any advice on how to do it properly? sans water?

One FAQ I saw said run it on 3v (a few C batteries in series) w/o a load til the batteries die and it's done.

With that motor, you don't really need to do anything, just get out on the rocks, the amount of difference it makes is so minimal in our application, it isn't worth the hassle. Now if you were racing..............

If you're really, really worried about it (with a lathe motor, I don't bother) you can drive around slow (like half throttle) for a pack or two as well. I did that with my old Evader when I got a new motor, I don't know how much difference it made, but it was a slow boring process either way.