• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

redneck engineering?

JakeD

Total newb here. (My apologies ahead of time.)

New to the off road world and am in posession of a bone stock 95 wrangler.

I toook it off road up to Reiter a few weeks ago, and needless to say, performance was NOT what I would have liked. It was fun, but I would like just a little something more out of her.

I am on a serious budget and am wondering, what mods will give me the best bang for the buck?

Tires are a given... But what (were talking brand names) would be my best investment for the least amount of money.

I am mechanically inclined, (by the way, the transmission is connected to the skidplate on jeeps, I found that one out the hard way.) and so I am not scared of doing these things by myself.

and.... the other question is... Where do you get rubber plugs for the floor pan? the jerkoff this thing came from decided it would go faster without them (or something like that).

Interesting first post.

So, first, Welcome to NWW. You should post up in the INTRODUCTIONS.

Secondly, the rubber plugs missing from the floorboards typically a dealer item only, although sometimes body shops have them. And I've always been the guy who removes them, as it allows the water to drain out of my YJ that way. Just throw a Schucks special rubber mat over the floor.

Thirdly, your 'TECH' questions are rather vague, but if I had a bone stock YJ or TJ, the first thing I'd acquire, are a spare set of rear axle shafts, as they are notoriously prone to breakage, and will leave you stranded quite quickly. After that, a set of 33 inch mud tires, followed by a high-lift jack, first aid kit, mud flaps (cop repellant), and maybe a winch. Then, I'd probably join a club to learn the areas and then pick up from the club members what you want to modify next.

TreeClimber

Last edited: