• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

starter problem

s10truggy

When trucks hot it want try to start Wat starters are yal using with shorty headers

THE DREADED "HEAT SOAK" Summit Racing has heat shields to mount on a full size starter. Another alternative is to run the small gear drive type starter and turn the body upside down so the solenoid is on the bottom away from the header tubes. If you're not familiar with tearing down a starter, take it to an auto electric shop and have them do it. If you're in the Dora/Sumiton area, let me know, I'll be glad to do it for you.

badreligion_13 said:
A much better solution than any heat shield is this remote solenoid kit.. I have been using two of these for 20 years on two different vehicles with not one bit of a problem with starting while using headers.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SUM-G1750/
A remote solenoid (actually a relay) is a help in that it will provide higher current to the solenoid and starter motor. It does not resolve the problem of the solenoid coil on the starter absorbing heat which results in higher resistance and therefore higher current demand. From a practical standpoint, try a heat shield first, they're cheap and quick to install. If that doesn't resolve the problem add a remote solenoid (relay) kit. As a final solution, try the upside-down mini starter. Another advantage of a mini-starter is that they require less current to operate making them less susceptible to heat soak. Also their small size keeps the motor and solenoid farther away from the headers.

I'd suggest that before you start on all the above, have your starter checked for current draw and bushing condition. GM starters are notorious for the armature bushings wearing and expanding when hot allowing the armature in the motor to pull out of line causing the infamous "rump-rumps" when hot. By the way, you might want to check your timing, too much initial advance will cause a similar symptom.

doctordick said: