• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Tattoos and employment

The Luke

Who here has visible tattoos? Has it effected your working career? Who won't hire someone because of said tattoos?
I'm about to get mine done on my forearm and I know my current boss doesn't care. But just curious if this is still an issue these days or if that is a thing of the past.

I have a sleeve. And it has never effected me, job wise. With that being said, I spent 11 years building natural gas pipelines, then a year for BNSF railroad. For the past two and a half years, I have been a mechanic for Nucor Steel. So not really, prestige, upclass jobs. I know some jobs are a lot more picky, if you are dealing with people more.

I read a lot or maybe too much into things...

Traditional / didn't spend a mortgage inking up yourself tattoo's, I don't see the issue.

These modern day neck / full leg / weird looking hand / face lookin' like a graffiti'd up desk in detention class motherfuckers go be a thug on someone else's dime. You HAD money at one time to get all that stupid ****, go find that same money elsewhere.

However, if you're a chick with a tramp stamp or a garter belt tattoo....might make be hired straight on as a partner with stock options. :)

I hire folks with visible tattoos for white collar office jobs/management positions. Knowing when to cover up for meetings has been the only conversation I've had to have with my folks. I think the only tattoos that would cause some concern are face/neck tattoos since they can't be covered for meetings.

I work in the executive office for a major healthcare company and a number of staff that work with the execs all the time have visible tattoos. No one seems to give a damn if you show up on time and do your job. Only the crustiest of the crustiest old school managers seems to give a damn.

This guy is CEO material
8b53421c32942a2b4786933e295bafa3.jpg

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk