• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

9K winches

crash2

-Oh no I picked a side-
Ok so the winch game has changed since I bought my ramsey soo many years ago and its time for a new one.

I was hoping to hold off until next year to replace my winch on my revamp of the toy but I think mine is about done..

I was looking at something with a decent line speed with non integrated solenoids because it will be down in the chassis once its redone..

So whats out there now?

The best is still the 8274. It pulls far harder than it's rated. Downside is it's odd shape, and it's price. But a man of your skills won't have any trouble finding a well used one on CL or NWW and simply rebuilding it. Warn still has all the parts necessary, and they're not expensive, except for the motors. And motors can be sourced aftermarket.

Hi all,

Mike, I have been running a Superwinch X9 for 15 years on my FJ40 with good results.

I used the Warn 9000 low-mount a number of times back in the 1990s without any issues.

If you are looking for a lower cost winch, talk with Tor about the Comeup brand electric winches (he is a dealer.)

Regards,

Alan

Last edited:
If you are looking for a lower cost winch, talk with Tor about the Comeup brand electric winches (he is a dealer.)

I've got a Comeup Seal 9.5i, I have been really happy with it. It pulls really well and has good line speed.

Warn 9000m is the best choice for what you want to do.
You know which one I have,but I haven't had it that long but the solenoid pack is seperate

I have had great experience with smittybuilt winches, had a first gen 8 k on the yj race rig, many hard pulls, including dead engine vertical rock wall pulls at the hammers.