• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

383 on payne ???

xjpaddler

I got my hands on a 383 with aluminum heads ( not sure what Brand) My buggy is already set up for payne.

My ??? are

what is a good cam to run for what we do?? also if I am going to go through this motor is there anything I need to do to help it run on payne, Different valves, or anyting???

Im not much on building motors, but willing to learn.

oh yea cucvs, 456s and 43s Ive got a doubler so crawling is not a prob, but i need more motor for the hill climbs.

I'm no expert, but I've always heard propane needs higher compression to make the horsepower.

Any chance you wanna bump up compression, Heath?

Also, timing needs to be adjusted, correct?

Boy, I'm full of help... NOT!!! :wtflol:

Lots of compression and don't go to big on your cam or you won't have much vacuum.that's about it

jordan7118 said:
I'm no expert, but I've always heard propane needs higher compression to make the horsepower.

Any chance you wanna bump up compression, Heath?

Also, timing needs to be adjusted, correct?

Boy, I'm full of help... NOT!!! :wtflol:

yes I am wanting to make some power. Planning to bump the compression, what kinda #s should I be looking for. anyone got some specs on cams??

plan to do some work on the dizzy as well, anyone got any tips there??

Re: Re: 383 on payne ???

If u want all the hp outta the motor put an efi system on it and get rid of the propane.

Stay at least 11:1 or higher on compression,and get you a cam around a 270 or 280, always better to call the cam company and let them recommend one tho.And it's hard to beat a good hei distributor, they are just so reliable.if you get all that and run a 2,000 or 2,400 stall it should be a beast.

Nuts said:
What mixer and vaporizer/regulator are you running? 425 and model E?

Yes 425 and model E hopeing that should work for the motor.