• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Building or Driving?

ForMud

Kind going along with the "What is building a buggy" thread.

What do you enjoy the most the building of a rig or the riding end of things?

I'm at 30% building and 70% riding right now. It'll change once I save up some money and start on the next big build up of my rig.
I like the research ( Or plotting and planning ) of the build more than the actual hands on part. My body is getting old and hurts if I push to hard.
The driving part can get stressful...Mostly the whole getting everything together and the towing part....Once on the trail it's all good.

Driving 100%. Building stresses me out. And usually causes friction between my dad and me. He helps me do it since I don't know how and want to learn, but sometimes he can overthink things and something simple becomes a big ordeal. I'm a driver, I don't like spotting either. towing and all that doesn't bother me, I always feel like I forget something but so far other than a lantern been fairly lucky about remembering everything.

Perfect world, I'd never have to fix or build anything and it would all just be there. But I do enjoy the build also.

Ultimately, I am a wheeler. Riding with a buddy is what got me in to this craziness and it is what keeps me in it. That was over 11 years ago and I have been ate up with it every since. That being said, I do enjoy the fabrication part of it a lot too. So much so that I work for my buddy on my days off at his shop building cool offroad ****. I do get tired of wrenching from time to time and always go wheeling to build up my motivation. The wheeling feeds the building. :****:

I build or wrench because I have to. No money to pay a shop that's going to deliver what I want)

Driving (on the road, towing, on the trails, ...) is what I like.

I enjoy both, but i think i'm better at working on my **** than i am wheeling it. I seem to struggle on some of the easiest obstacles....

BUG-E J said: