• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Heated seats problem

tlcruiser66

Okay, been having an issue with my heated seats lately and hoping someone on here would know where to start.

I've got an 03' GMC 2500HD and the drivers side seat heater doesn't want to stay on, the passenger side works fine unless I try to turn on the drivers seat then neither will stay on until I restart the truck.

Normally i'd just ignore it because I really don't care too much about having a toasty ass but some mornings those leather seats are freaking cold and it would be nice to warm them up.

I haven't gotten any of it torn apart yet because frankly i'm not sure where to even start looking as this is something i've never tried to fix before.

Any GM guys out there run into this before and could give me some pointers where to start?

I've had problems with my seats on my 03 Chebby too.

Sometimes when it is cold out, the drivers window won't roll up or down, and the heated seat button for the drivers side takes some finesse to get it to work. Everything on the passenger side works great though.

I took the door apart to look for problems, and there is a printed circuit board in there instead of just switches. I figured it was some sort of moisture getting in there so I cleaned it up and checked the door for any water intrusion. No dice.

One day, the heated seat switch on the drivers side just stayed on. It kept cycling through the settings like I had my finger on the button constantly. After I got home, I went outside to take it apart and look for problems but it stopped doing it.

I've searched a few of the GM boards but haven't gotten any useful info. And it's tough taking it to dealerships because it is an intermittent problem and they won't actually see what it is doing. Plus I don't want to pay for thier labor time to tell me they can't replicate the problem.