• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Metal shavings....

Draco

Any of you folks machinists or toy around with such at home?

I have 0 training or idea where to start....That being said....I'd like to add something to my shop/tool collection. Why? No good reason, just seems like a nice option to have when needed. Just an idea I've been kicking around lately. I know they're dangerous and you need some working knowledge of the machines. My brother worked in a machine shop for a while and can help me a little or I'd be glad to have someone from here drop by and show me some stuff. Mostly, I've always been self taught on everything I do....Don't see why I couldn't do the same with this after some "general direction" and safety overview.

If you had to choose one, would you rather have a lathe or a mill? One more versatile than the other?
I don't have 3 phase power so I'm not looking for a big machine, just something to piddle with more or less. Found a couple smaller lathes on craigslist in the $1k range.
Any good forums you recommend?

Thanks! :dblthumb:

If I was buying one or the other it would be a mill, I would want at least a series 1 Bridgeport or knock off, a lot of times you will find them on CL complete with a phase converter, if you have to buy a phase converter get a newer style electronic one, we had a old rotary phaser and it worked good you just could not instantly reverse machine like when tapping.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mill most definitely would be the biggest help, and if you find a deal on a 3 phase machine snatch it up, I can tell you how to make your 3 phase power using another old wore out 3 phase motor and 220 volt electricity, I power my whole machine shop this way.

Definitely a mill, you can check for local auctions and normally pick a nicer mill up for a fraction of the cost of a new one. A rotary table and some decent tooling and you can make so much more than a lathe. If I ever get a chance that's what I will do.