• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Welding hoods

85toyo

I've got a few auto dark hoods that really dont work all that great so most of the time I stick with my cheap fixed shade. I have a hard time with the fixed shade when I have to stick my head up in some tight spots and can't flip it down so I think it's time to invest in a good hood. I've been looking at the miller pro hobby and performance series auto dark hoods. Any experience with these or better suggestions?

I been welding for about 12 yrs now (im still a novice) I have always just had a fixed shade hood. Then I started using the auto hoods at work and had to have one well. I was in lowe's about a month ago and they had there small window auto darkening hood on sale for $59.99 so I bought it figured if it sucked i could take it back, but it works like a champ has a knob to adjust the shade and nothing else fully auto!!! great deal IMO :dblthumb:

Bout any hood you get at a welding supply store such as airgas is gona be good for what you do. I have several student that have miller hoods and they work great. Dont get one with a knob on the outside because it hangs on everything. I also have students that have the hobart hoods and they work well also. Personally i like a Jackson hood and if your not worried about adjusting shades or having grinding mode you can buy one for around $100

iv been welding for 15 years + and have had many but so far the millers top the list. iv got 2 miller Digital Elites with the cool band and i love them the down side is the cost around 500 but without the cool band there around 300 to 325

For tight places Speedglass hoods are small and many adjustments.I personally own a miller hood also love it its a bit bigger than the speedglass.Both great hoods one just smaller than the other.

sledneck said:
Miller elite series and done. :****: