• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

fj40 knuckle swap

tmckenziem

Hey guys...........i just bought a front end out of a fj60 and plan on doing a knuckle swap on my 75 fj40! any body have any advice........i've never done it before.............but not an idiot!!!:fawkdancesmiley: ..........well maybe?! ha.....any way plan on putting in a true trac and some lower gearing while i'm in there and have not decided on some longfields or a birf eliminator yet..........any help would be apreciated.........by the way i'm gonna stay with a 35" tire while i'm there............and is there any body who can point me to some one to spring over these axles too?:corn:

Talk to Bill, one of your FJ40 neighbors. Lives up the hill behind town.

As to your Q:
The knuckles should be the same, unless your going from drum to disc. I know some '75s had drums. Most had disc though.

I wouldn't bother with lower cruiser gears. ALot of money and not that much of a lower crawl ratio. 4.88s are about it unless you don't mind shaving ring gear teeth in order to fit the center pin into the carrier. 35s and 4.10s are fine usually (especially with a v-8 if ya got one). Go lower on the tranny by swapping in an SM with a granny gear.

Longfields 4 sho. Don't bother with the birf eliminator...its weaker than what you have already. I think Bob long still might just treat your stock birfs also. I've been running those for 5 years.

For your SOA, you have stock springs right now? If yes, those are work good. You gonna to PS at the same time? Got longer shocks yet? The front driveline slipyoke is right at the verge of being too short if you go SOA and shackle reversal (gonna do the SR at the same time?). I'd definitely recommend the SR while doing the SOA. You can also spin your front springs around for a better approach angle and a longer wheel base.