• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

HP44 and Stickys?

y2knole

got a narrowed HP44 going into my TJ very soon, and I'm close to needing tires.

This axle has warn hubs (might change em to slugs later) and chromolly shafts, 4.88 gears, locked, and its goin into a 4.0 TJ.

Im pretty sensible with the skinny pedal, Ive been nursing a HP30 for a few years now...

Think it would hold up to a set of 37" Reds Labels or would I regret the sticky tires?

Drive with some sense and you should be fine. Assuming it's good Chromo's and good joints. The weak part is that 4:88 R&P. If you are building the axle have the gears cryo treated first. They last a lot longer that way.

y2knole said:
got a narrowed HP44 going into my TJ very soon, and I'm close to needing tires.

This axle has warn hubs (might change em to slugs later) and chromolly shafts, 4.88 gears, locked, and its goin into a 4.0 TJ.

Im pretty sensible with the skinny pedal, Ive been nursing a HP30 for a few years now...

Think it would hold up to a set of 37" Reds Labels or would I regret the sticky tires?

I had a D44 in my Tacoma. I could break stuff at will running 37" Pro Comp Xtreme All Terrians.

01TJ on here ran the same setup in a TJ with very good luck. I think he cracked some teeth off of the ring gear but never major failure. He also ran RCV's...

ive been on hp30 and 36" iroks for the last several years and its held up fine. aside from wear items, steering, balljoints, etc that have worn out too fast for my liking...

matth_85 said:
01TJ on here ran the same setup in a TJ with very good luck. I think he cracked some teeth off of the ring gear but never major failure. He also ran RCV's...

Yeah he's right, but my TJ had a 2.5 in it. I ran Yukon shafts and spicer joints for a little while, before switching to RCV. The 37 reds were pretty rough on the Spicer joints and Warn hubs. The ring gear did have a few chipped teeth in it as well. I'd definetly carry some spare shafts, and hubs.