• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

Steering Wheel Quick Disconnect?

WHIZARD

I am finally going to put a steering wheel disconnect in my buggy after bruising the **** out of my leg at Hawk Pride this weekend. I have been looking at them and there are so many different ones to choose from. What are some of you guys running on your rigs? I'm new to the whole removeable steering wheel concept, so any tips would be appreciated as well. I'm also going to change to a different steering wheel; so show me what you're running as a wheel too please. I know that I want to run either a 13 or 15 steering wheel but I am open to suggestions. Thanks fellers.

I've had the hex, and the splined. Hex easier to get on, but has much more slop than the splined.
For a trails or beater buggy the Hex is fine, for a racer you want the spline.

Spline is the way to go. Harder to put on, but will won't come off unless you want it too.

Thanks for all of the input guys. Looks like I am going with the Tanner Racing spline disconnect, great price and looks to be a great product. I've been looking at several different steering wheels, I really like the Grant suede wheel but I am not sure if I would like such a small wheel. Anybody have any opinions on a good steering wheel? I really want a 13 or 15, but would consider another size if I liked the wheel :dunno:. Thanks.

Re:

I ordered a 15" for my rig but it seems too big, I have a 13" that works better, I got a 10.75" coming tomorrow to see which fits best. I had to sit in the seat belted in to get size right. Biggest thing is how far out ends up from your legs

TBItoy said:
I've got the cheapest one that speedway motors sells.

whole combo is only $55. Aluminum wheel is only $65, but I heard they bend pretty easy.

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/Steel-Dish-Steering-Wheel-Combo-15-Inch,38808.html