• Help Support Hardline Crawlers :

6.0 question's

3gracing

(This is also posted on Pirate, but I now a lot of the people on this board are running these engines) I'm a newbie to the late model Chevy engine(A ford guy since birth). With the power people seem to get from these engines and the prices that you can get them for it's hard for even a die-hard ford guy not to buy and put one in a crawler. My ?'s are is their a certain year or years that are the best, general price range for a low-mileage motor, any good websites for info on these engines, what most do to increase the hp(wanting around 350-400hp), who best to modify the engine harness/computer. Before it's suggested, a complete Mast engine is out of the ?

Brian

There was a recent thread on this. Prices have gone up on these as I have been shopping. Looking at $1400 to $2000k on a complete LQ4. Price depends on mileage and who is selling, but that is what I found. Use to be you could hae these motors all day for less than 1k. The LQ9 is the HO version of the LQ4 and has a higher compression ratio, but also a good bit more money (over $2k).

In terms of building them there is pretty much no limit, depends on how much $ you want to spend. For mine I have AA Headers, K&N Filter, GMPP LS Hot Cam w/ Springs, & ECM Tune. Hoping to be close to 400 HP with my LQ4. You can do L92 Heads, FAST Intake/TB, Bigger Cam, etc and make lots of power, but it will costs lots of coin. It is also cool that you can swap the car intake/tb and injectors on them to lower the height, and car accessory setup to lower the length. Makes them much easier to fit in a buggy. Also a gated oil pan is a must also.

Lots of people use Kevko for pans, but moroso also makes one for LS motors (gotta get windage tray for it also). The Kevko is cheaper, but they have been having a lot of quality issues lately I have heard.